The award categories 2019

Currently, there are 12 categories for care homes, 10 categories for home care service providers, 5 categories for suppliers, and 6 categories for overall achievement:


Care Home categories

  • Best for Architecture, Interior Design or Communal Spaces
  • Best for Garden or Outdoor Spaces
  • Best for Communication (with residents, families, friends & carers)
  • Best Facilities Management or Maintenance Team
  • Best for Non-clinical Facilities (including wellbeing and alternative therapies)
  • Best for Sporting, Social or Leisure Activities – sponsored by Fred Theatre
  • Best for Nutrition, Food & the Dining Experience
  • Best Care Home Marketing, Advertising or PR Campaign or Initiative
  • Best Training Initiative
  • Best Nursing Care
  • Best Specialist Care (including respite, dementia, special needs, stroke, etc)
  • Best New Care Home (opened between January 1, 2017 and December 31, 2018) – sponsored by L&G Home Finance


Home Care categories

  • Respite Care Service
  • Specialist Care Service
  • Nursing Care Service
  • Day Care Service
  • Live-in Care Service
  • End-of-life Care Service
  • Support Team
  • Nursing Team
  • Specialist Care Team – sponsored by Audley Care
  • Respite Team


Supplier categories

  • Best Clinical Equipment, Product or Product Service Supplier (including paramedical or therapeutic service, activity or product, such as eye care, chiropody, hygiene, and therapies, etc) – sponsored by Health plus Care Show
  • Best Equipment, Product or Product Service Supplier (including furniture, appliances, heating and air conditioning, art, music, drama, etc, food or catering supplier, maintenance supplies & soft facilities or outdoor supplier, aids for memory or disability, etc) – sponsored by Health plus Care Show
  • Best Professional Service Provider (legal, financial, planning, property management, insurance, compliance, etc) – sponsored by Health plus Care Show
  • Best Business or Creative Service Provider (including architecture or interior design specialists, consultants, marketing, advertising, PR or digital specialist and training and development, etc) – sponsored by Health plus Care Show
  • Best IT or Communications Product or Service Provider (including monitoring, care management, nursing or emergency response, Broadband, internet, broadcast TV and radio) – sponsored by Health plus Care Show


Overall Achievement Categories (Gold Awards)

(To enter these Overall Achievement categories you must have entered at least one other category

For home care services

  • Most Outstanding Home Care Team
  • Overall Achievement in Home Care

For care homes:

  • Best Individual Care Home or Care Community – sponsored by L&G Home Finance
  • Best Single Care Home or Care Community in a Group
  • Best Smaller Care Home Group (up to 50 homes)
  • Best Larger Care Home Group (over 50 homes) – sponsored by L&G Home Finance


If you have constructive thoughts about the categories we would love to hear them, especially if your views help us improve the categories for 2019.


You may well have an internal or external team to prepare your entries, but If you do need any help writing your entries, Boost Marketing can give you independent advice from their centres in the UK and Ireland. Boost works completely independently of the Awards and there is no commercial relationship between Boost and the Care Home Awards.


Headline Sponsor



Official Media Partner

Category Sponsors 2019



Supported by